William Wordsworth, Dorothy Wordsworth

The Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, Vol. 7: The Later Years: Part IV: 1840–1853 (Second Revised Edition)

Contents
Find Location in text

Main Text

pg 211376. W. W. to CORDELIA MARSHALL

  • MS. Cornell.
  • LY ii. 1003.

  • Rydal Mount
  • Febry 19th 1840

My dear Cordelia,

If you had known how little my promised Letter was likely to contain1 you would not have honoured it with a wish for its arrival—In fact when I told Mrs W. or Dora I should write to you myself, it was because I thought it became me to do so, in order to thank you for your Drawing from the far Terrace. I like it much, but sincerity compels me to say, not so well as the Sketch—The fault is in the management of the projecting firbough in its connection with the round Island. This you will easily correct when we have the pleasure of seeing you as I hope we shall, next summer.—

I shall be truly glad to receive the Drawing of the Cabinet2 from the pencil of Mrs Gaskell—

Dora has been a week gone from home; this day, she takes up her Abode at her Friend Sarah Coleridge's 10 Chester place, near the Colyseum, Regent's park. She chuses to be there at this time for quiet's sake, in order to avoid the bustle of a Wedding at Mrs Hoare's Hampstead, the Bride who has been long resident with Mrs H—is Louisa Lloyd.3 Dora describes herself as well, but we know her to be weak, and She was looking miserably thin when she left us. They had a most agreeable and unfatiguing journey by Railway from Preston.—Miss Fenwick is well and no doubt will contrive to see you as soon as you arrive in London. After this week she changes her Lodgings, so I cannot give you her address—

The Author of Ernest is Mr Loft son of the late Capel Loft near Bury St Edmunds, so you need not trouble yourself with further inquiries, as I know a good deal about him. He was a distinguished Scholar when at Trin: Coll. Cambridge—4

pg 22I hope you will all enjoy yourselves in London; there is no likelihood of our going thither this Spring, in fact every other year in London is quite enough for my strength. I find it too hard service, though Mr Rogers 7 years my Senior does not.

I have no news for you—this neighbourhood being quite barren of any thing so precious. Miss Gillies's pictures we learn are much liked, especially one of Mrs Wordsworth and my self in the same Piece.1 I shall be glad if you and all your family approve of them. Pray be so good as to let Mr Wyon2 know that we are anxious to have back the two Medallions improved, as he promised. Dora could bring them with her, if he could finish them immediately.—Poor dear Mr Southey is no better; with affectionate remembrances to yourself, Father and Mother and Sisters and all your friends in which Mrs W joins

  • I remain ever yours      
  • W W

Notes Settings

Notes

Editor’s Note
1 Written contained.
Editor’s Note
2 The Wordsworth family aumbry (see L. 1364 above).
Editor’s Note
3 A connection of the Lloyds of Birmingham. She was the youngest daughter of C. Lloyd of Olton Green, Warwickshire, and married J. C. Powell, eldest son of James Powell of Clapton.
Editor’s Note
4 See pt. iii, L. 1335. Capel Lofft jnr. was a Fellow of King's, not Trinity. His father, Capel Lofft snr. (1751–1824), inherited the family estates at Troston and Stanton, nr. Bury St. Edmunds, on the death of his uncle in 1781, and devoted himself to literary pursuits and radical causes. He was a staunch supporter of Napoleon. He edited The Poems of Robert Bloomfield (1803), and published poems, translations, and works on legal and political issues.
Editor’s Note
1 See L. 1371 above. A replica of this joint portait is preserved at Dove Cottage.
Editor’s Note
2 For E. W. Wyon and his medallion of W. W., see pt. iii, L. 1016. W. W. gave him another sitting at the Marshalls' house when he was down in London in June 1839 (see HCR ii. 572).
logo-footer Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved. Access is brought to you by Log out