Jump to Content
Jump to chapter

William Wordsworth

Ernest De Selincourt and Chester L. Shaver (eds), The Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, Vol. 1: The Early Years: 1787–1805 (Second Revised Edition)

Find Location in text

Main Text

173. W. W. to R. W.

  • Address: Mr Wordsworth | No 11 Staple Inn | London
  • Postmark: [21 June 1802].
  • Stamp: Kendal.
  • Endorsed: 21st June 1802.
  • MS. Cumberland County Archives, Carlisle. Hitherto unpublished.

Grasmere Friday Ev. [18 June 1802]1

My dear Brother

I have just received the enclosed Paper2 from my excellent Friend Mr Clarkson of Eusemere: he was so good as to walk over with [it] to Mr Luff's a Friend of mine who lives at Patterdale; and Mr Luff brought it over to us, himself, this morning. When you have read it [yo]u will perceive that not a moment m[ust] be lost. I therefore earnestly request that you will write to me giving me an exact history of the case, and of the footing on which it now stands. I go over to Mr Clarkson's on Monday3 in order to consult with Mr Myers and see Dr Lowther4 if adviseable, and I beg that you would direct your answer, by return of Post to me at Mr Clarksons near Penrith to be left at Michael Rimington's.5 It is probable that you may not have time to give me a full statement and history of the case by return of Post; but do not on any account fail to write a Letter however short; and follow it up with another as soon as possible with the same address as I shall continue to stay at Mr pg 369Clarksons till I receive your full statement; and draw up the memorial under Mr Myers' and Mr Clarksons eye. You will easily perceive that the sooner the account and claim are sent in, it must be infinitely the better; while the disposition in the mind of Lord L—to do good is fresh and unwearied by the infinity of applications which will be made.

  • Your affectionate Br     
  • W. Wordsworth  

Notes Settings


Editor’s Note
1 The date of this letter is established by the reference to Capt. Luff's call, which took place, according to D. W.'s journal, on 18 June.
Editor’s Note
2 Although D. W. calls this 'a letter' in her journal, to judge from the last sentence of Letter 174 it was probably a draft in Clarkson's hand of a memorandum intended for Lord Lowther's agent.
Editor’s Note
3 He left at midday on Monday, 21 June, and returned in the evening of Thursday, 24 June.
Editor’s Note
4 The Revd. William Lowther, D.D. (21 Sept. 1744–8 Jan. 1814), Rector of Lowther, Westm., since 1769.
Editor’s Note
5 A Quaker banker of Penrith (living in 1811), whose business premises were in the market square and whose residence, Tynefield, was just outside of Penrith on the road to Eamont Bridge.
logo-footer Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. Access is brought to you by Log out